Central & Southern HB North Island SJ Championships

McNaught-McFarlane Claims Penultimate World Cup Round
Sunday, 4 January 2015

Helen McNaught-McFarlane may and her quirky grey Carnutelabryere are meant to be having a “learning year” but today took out the penultimate round of the Ultra•Mox FEI World Cup at the McMillan’s North Island Champs in Dannevirke.

For the Taupo based Brit, it is turning into a gem of a season. Today they headed home eight other combinations over a “very meaty” Kevin Hansen designed course to take the honours and the North Island Horse Grand Prix title to boot.

The first round saw clear rounds from the veterans – Katie Laurie (Mystery Creek) and Dunstan Lucca, in his World Cup début, and Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) aboard My Gollywog. McNaught-McFarlane and Carnutelabryere sat on four faults, along with Laurie aboard Dunstan Frangipanne de Toxandria and Jesse Linton (Hastings) on Strathcarron Zaurak.

“I had nothing to lose (in the second round),” said McNaught-McFarlane. “I had Katie and Maurie behind me and knew they weren’t going to hang around, so we had to move a little. Brian was jumping so well, I didn’t think he would take a rail.”

And she was right – they flew around, leaving everything in place in 52.4 seconds. Laurie came in for second aboard Frangipanne with four faults in 56.08 and Linton also finishing on four faults in 62.99.

“This is meant to be Brian’s growing year, so anything he does is a bonus,” says McNaught-McFarlane of the nine-year-old horse. “Today is definitely the biggest track he has ever jumped – he’s just a big baby with a huge heart. Everything he does it to please you, and you can’t go wrong with a horse like that.”

From his five World Cup starts, Brian has picked up three thirds, a second and a win.

The series final is being hosted on January 10-11 by Showjumping Waitemata at the Woodhill Sands Equestrian Centre in Auckland.

This weekend’s North Island Champs, hosted by the Central and Southern Hawke’s Bay Showjumping Group and run over three days, attracted just over 480 entries.

Results -
Showjumping, Ultra•Mox FEI World Cup (NZ series – North Island Horse Grand Prix Championship): Helen McNaught-McFarlane (Taupo) Carnutelabryere 1, Katie Laurie (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Frangipanne de Toxandria 2, Jesse Linton (Hastings) Strathcarron Zaurak 3, Katie Laurie (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Lucca 4, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) My Gollywog 5, Lucy Akers (Opiki) Tinapai 6.

Canterbury Equestrian Young Rider Series North Island Championship: Rose Alfeld (Christchurch) My Super Nova 1, Rose Alfeld (Christchurch) Capprera 2, Samantha Morrison (Tauranga) Biarritz 3, Melanie Weal (Te Awamutu) Appleton 4, Emily Hayward-Morgan (Te Awamutu) AP Ninja 5, Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Ngahiwi Telephonic 6.

Telford Junior Rider Series North Island Championship: Georgia Massie (Dannevirke) Double J Cloud 9 1, Sophie Burling (Kerikeri) Detailed NSH 2, Larina Dolman (Gisborne) Kiwi Lansing 3, Georgia Massie (Dannevirke) Kiwi Ironheart 4, Emily Hayward-Morgan (Te Awamutu) Yandoo Lady Gold 5, Emily Fraser (Feilding) Kiwi Relic 6.

Pro Amateur Rider Series North Island Championship: Danielle Maurer (Auckland) Supernova NPZH 1, Sarah Dalziell (Masterton) Benrose Super Star 2, Brooke Zander (Waipukurau) Double J Rumours 3, Sally Clark (Dannevirke) Victoria’s Secret 4, Geordie Bull (Taupo) Forest Hill 5, Chloe Akers (Opiki) Kiwi Motto 6.

Caledonian Amateur Rider Series North Island Championship: Rawiri Waara (Marton) Transforma 1, Natasha Mazey (Wellington) Kabo Lunar 2, Carol Stewart (Tokoroa) Hit Parade 3, Dana Sutton (Eketahuna) Down Wind 4, Kaleigh Kent (Otane) Double J Sponge Bob Square Pants 5, Diana Cottle (Palmerston North) Morpheus Rising 6.

East Coast Performance Horses Five Year Old Series North Island Championship: Oliver Edgecombe (Waipukurau) Double J Escape 1, Laura Knight (Palmerston North) Allouette 2, Laura Knight (Palmerston North) Letino 3, Desiree Foxley (Hastings) Johnny Dodge 4, Oliver Edgecombe (Waipukurau) Ngahiwi Onyx 5, William Lyles (Turangi) Midway Monolito 6.

Mitavite Six Year Old Series North Island Championship: Carol Stewart (Tokoroa) Hit Parade 1, Noni Morgan (Hastings) Kiwi Doll 2, Lucy Akers (Opiki) Hermanito 3, Geordie Bull (Taupo) Tell Tale 4, Ashley Hart (Hastings) Kiwi Lux 5, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Radiant 6.

Goldengrove Stud Seven Year Old Series North Island Championship: Larina Dolman (Gisborne) Kiwi Lansing 1, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Mandalay Cove 2, Oliver Edgecombe (Waipukurau) Ultra Blue NZPH 3, Georgia Massie (Dannevirke) Larinium LS 4, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Clearwater 5, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Wishing Crown 6.

John Gilliland Memorial Pony Grand Prix North Island Championship: Shanae McKay (Levin) Kabo So Far 1, Parys Marshall (New Plymouth) Spot You Later 2, Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Kabo Silver 3, Maddison Bult (Auckland) Pioneer High Jinxz 4, Shanae McKay (Levin) Guthrie 5, Olivia Miller (Te Puke) Kaycee Mackay 6.

Main-Events University Series North Island Championship: Rebecca Porter (Napier) Mr Harrison 1, Samantha Morrison (Tauranga) Bellwood Cassanova 2, Claudia Porter (Napier) Joia Hara 3, Laura Hutterd (Stratford) Vogue II 4, Denver Ingram (Dannevirke) Ratu 5, Freya Gordon (Havelock North) Leo Chocolat 6.

North Island Pony Speed 1.2m: Ally Carson (Putaruru) Galaxy Knight Out 1, Ally Carson (Putaruru) Tony The Pony 2, Shanae McKay (Levin) Guthrie 3, Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Pioneer Jade 4, Emma Watson (Morrinsville) Fun House 5, Jack Webb (Hunterville) Jakaranda 6.

North Island Speed 1.3m: Larina Dolman (Gisborne) Kiwi Lansing 1, Rose Alfeld (Christchurch) Capprea 2, Jamie Howie (Taihape) Otairi Olivia 3, Melody Matheson (Hastings) Roulette MH 4, Claudia Porter (Napier) Joia Hara 5, Anna Stephen (Carterton) Earl Grey 6.

North Island Pony Mini Prix: Ally Carson (Putaruru) Galaxy Knight Out 1, Emma Watson (Morrinsville) Fun House 2, Amanda Steele (Hawera) Ronnie 3, Ally Carson (Putaruru) Tony The Pony 4, Tessa Wallace (Hawke’s Bay) Oporaes Sky High 5.

North Island Open Horse 1.15m-1.2m: Sophie Burling (Otaki) Cassaro Xtreme 1, Oliver Edgecombe (Waipukurau) Varekai SL 2, Chloe Akers (Opiki) Kiwi Motto 3, Larina Dolman (Gisborne) Kiwi Lansing 4, Bridget Watters (Feilding) Blue Sapphire 5.

North Island combined A, B and C Open Championship: Olivia Apatu (Waipukurau) Bexley Lodge Tinkabella 1, Ike Baker (Porirua) Red Baron 2, Will Moffett (Hastings) Piripi 3, Tatjana Wagner (Masterton) Rigoletto 4, Ruby Liardet (Carterton) Goodview the Whistleblower 5.